John's Micro.Blog

Follow @JohnBrady on Micro.blog.

Roe & me.

I won’t get into any statements about the ruling or its pros and cons, just reflect on where this puts the concerns of me and my friends.

I live in NY state, which already has permissive abortion laws. The only legal response to the Supreme Court ruling that I anticipate here might be a reactive push to extend abortion “rights” to absurd lengths: full-term babies, babies who haven’t yet left the hospital, whatever. So the legal landscape won’t change much.

Our small, nascent ZOE for Life operation, a kind of Orthodox version of BirthRight, will just keep doing what we planned to do: work to persuade women in crisis pregnancies that abortion isn’t their only option, and try to provide pre- and postnatal help, practical and spiritual, to make the choice for the baby easier.

Maybe the only change is that we need to worry a bit about attacks on our facility and maybe on our persons, since some activist groups have already threatened and attacked places like ours. Such is life in a disintegrating polity.

Sadly, I expect that the SCOTUS decision will make it even harder to talk about abortion as an important moral choice. As with so many things, it will be sucked into the partisan vortex, and one’s opinion will be another badge of political alignment.