John's Micro.Blog

Follow @JohnBrady on Micro.blog.

Apple & Me.

My first home computer was a Macintosh, a beautiful, innovative little machine. I still miss some of the software that came with it. (Imagine if Apple had continued to support and develop HyperCard for all these years!). I moved through a few Apple machines, always with the understanding that I was supporting the Cool, More Techie, More Arty, Scrappy Underdog in its battle against the Stodgy Dominant Corporate Microsoft Man.

Eventually the family iMac died, and my wife and I realized that we could buy two good Windows laptops for the price of a new Apple machine. We spent some time adjusting to the Windows world and have never looked back. In fact, I’m typing this post on that first Windows (Toshiba) laptop.

With the introduction of the iPhone, Apple quickly moved from Underdog to Uberdog, and their computers came along for the ride without (as far as I can see) continuing to advance in the same dramatic way.

For a while my attitude was that Apple is technically better, but not enough to justify the price. Now I read more and more user comments that make me think that Apple’s “Best Hardware & Software” reputation is fading rapidly.

Granted, I’m one of the computer proletariat, and it may be that if my needs were more advanced I’d feel the need to spend vastly more money on my computing “needs”. But I’m not so sure anymore.