John's Micro.Blog

Follow @JohnBrady on Micro.blog.

Gadget psychology.

There are guitarists known for favoring that one guitar: B. B. King, Eric Clapton. And there are others know for having a warehouse full of instruments: Keith Richards, Ry Cooder. (And of course Nigel Tufnel).

I think this is just an example of a general polarity in our relationship to our gear: it probably applies equally to cameras, pens, whatever.

So it is with knives. Here’s a photo of my beloved 5” semi-santoku knife. I’m definitely of the One True Gadget school: I looked long and hard for a good knife that I could use for almost every kitchen task, and this is that knife.

I looked on the Füri site and found the list price is quite steep, but I got this one cheaply a few years ago. The blade says it’s a “Trish Yearwood” signature edition, so I think that I benefited from a promotional deal that didn’t work out.