John's Micro.Blog

Follow @JohnBrady on Micro.blog.

"maybe that’s the calling of the hour, for all of us, to say what should be obvious and is tragically not."

From Russell Moore’s newsletter:

“If you ever find yourself somewhere in a crowd, and someone’s building a gallows, you are part of something bad and should leave, I don’t care how many ‘Jesus Saves’ signs you see.” I found myself saying this to a listener writing into a radio show interviewing me this week, upset about my view that the Capitol insurrection was not only a violation of the law and a sin against God, but a blasphemy against the name of Christ. I am trying to imagine telling my younger self that I would one day have to say this.

Such seems obvious to me, but most of the controversial stuff I say these days are. After years and years of preparing to address complicated and nuanced subjects, I mostly find myself talking about things I learned, literally, in preschool Sunday School: Murder is wrong, lying is wrong, rape and molestation is wrong, Jesus loves the little children (all the children of the world), seek first the kingdom of God, etc. But maybe that’s the calling of the hour, for all of us, to say what should be obvious and is tragically not.